Sunday, September 18, 2011

Riverside Virtual School


The Riverside Virtual School, RVS, is a WASC accredited, public, free, online school offering courses for students in grades 3-12.  Our full time program is organized to meet the needs of students seeking a challenging and innovative curriculum. 


A student at RVS is provided an Instructional Supervisor (IS) who they meet with once per month.  Our courses are online, but we are hybrid in many ways; throughout the month, our students choose how often they will be on campus for purposeful and meaningful face to face assistance, guidance, and interaction.  Our flexible schedule is designed to meet the needs of our students and their families.  


It is our goal that students enrolled at the Riverside Virtual School understand what it means to be a 21st Century learner who is exposed to a standards based curriculum, creative thinking, and choice.  We want our students to become digital citizens who aware of their electronic, "E-Legacy."  The dynamic faculty at the Riverside Virtual School see their role as that of a learning guide because we all teach and learn together. 


If you are interested in learning more about our program, we would love to hear from you.  Please feel free to contact us:


Courtney Hanes- Online English Instructor, Curriculum Developer, and Department Chair, Instructional Supervisor for grades 11-12 Chanes@rusd.k12.ca.us


David Dillon- Online History Instructor, Curriculum Developer, and Department Chair, Instructional Supervisor for grades 11-12 Ddillon@rusd.k12.ca.us


Sarah Lwanga- Online Mathematics Instructor, Curriculum Developer, and Department Chair, Instructional Supervisor for grades 9-10 Slwanga@rusd.k12.ca.us


Kelly McAllister- Online Science Instructor, Curriculum Developer, and Department Chair, Instructional Supervisor for grades 7-8 KmcAllister@rusd.k12.ca.us


Jerome Hill- Online English Instructor and Curriculum Developer, Instructional Supervisor for grades 3-6 Jvhill@rusd.k12.ca.us


Scott Hanes- Online Health, Physical Education, and Computer Instructor, Curriculum Developer, and Department Chair Shanes@rusd.k12.ca.us


Dr. David Haglund- Principal of the Riverside Virtual School Dhaglund@rusd.k12.ca.us